My first OpenSCAD project - open for feedback

classic Classic list List threaded Threaded
2 messages Options
Reply | Threaded
Open this post in threaded view
|

My first OpenSCAD project - open for feedback

ESF_nl
Proudly I present you my first OpenSCAD project!

I'm not a programmer but managed to program a 'zero clearance insert plate'
for a table saw.
<http://forum.openscad.org/file/t3069/Table_saw_image1.jpg>
Table_saw_zero_clearance_throat_plate_Robland_customizable.zip
<http://forum.openscad.org/file/t3069/Table_saw_zero_clearance_throat_plate_Robland_customizable.zip>  

I'd highly appreciate any feedback.

For example:
- can i better group all add-ons and substractions?
- can i use the if statement (currently marked //)? "If (scope=="first
half")"

Thank you in advance!
Erik

--
Sent from: http://forum.openscad.org/

Reply | Threaded
Open this post in threaded view
|

Re: My first OpenSCAD project - open for feedback

JordanBrown
On 1/4/2021 10:42 AM, ESF_nl wrote:
Proudly I present you my first OpenSCAD project! 

For a first project, by a non-programmer, that's really really good.

I haven't reviewed it end-to-end, but one thing that I notice is that in roundedCube you seem to need to do a lot of translation/rotation gymnastics to get the "negative" parts into place.

My biggest hint there is to pick your origin for "meniscus" carefully.  You have its origin being one end of the shape, in the center of the circle.  That might be the most inconvenient place possible.

Here's meniscus(30,10):

First, let's consider the X-Y position.  You're going to want to position this at corners of the thing you're cutting, right?  So design it so that when you position it to that corner, it's in the right place to cut - which means that the origin should be along the corner.  The X-Y origin should be at what is [10,10] in my picture above.  To make it a little more obvious, let's have it cut into +X and +Y.