Cylinder won't 'puncture'

classic Classic list List threaded Threaded
5 messages Options
Reply | Threaded
Open this post in threaded view
|

Cylinder won't 'puncture'

raymondpijpers
This post has NOT been accepted by the mailing list yet.
Hi all,

I am completely new to 3D but we have a 3D printer here at the office so I am playing around with openscad. I found the option to import a .png and have been playing with the colors to create different heights. It looks nice, but I want to make a keychain out of it so I need to puncture the logo (almost) at the corner. I found the difference() option and used two cylinders in this, but they are not actually creating a hole in my logo. (I will add a picture of the design in openscad and below I will post the code I am using)

I really hope someone here has been around more then me and can give me the golden tip :-)

With kind regards,
Raymond

scale([1, 1, 0.2])
  surface(file = "F:\\Backup Raymond Pijpers\\Design dingetjes\\3D Printing\\HTA logo\\logometwit.png", center = true, invert = false);
  translate([87,21,0])
 difference() {
        cylinder (h = 2, r=4, center = false, $fn=100);
     translate([0,0,-2])
        #cylinder (h = 5, r=3.5, center = false, $fn=100);
}

Reply | Threaded
|

Re: Cylinder won't 'puncture'

QuackingPlums
I'm not sure what you're trying to do with the two different cylinders but you're only subtracting the small red one from the larger one, rather than the logo itself.

To 'punch a hole' you need to subtract the cylinder from the keychain like this:

difference()
{
    *logo stuff goes here*
    cylinder(*dimensions of 'hole' to subtract from your keychain*);
}

If you want to make a more complex hole shape then you can just keep subtracting more shapes.

By the way, you will need to make the cylinder a smidge taller than the keychain and nudge it downwards by half a smidge (in the z-direction) so that it fully intersects the logo above and below.